Birdmen. Careless or Extreme?

Tonight’s Post:

1. Post your final thoughts on whether this is careless or extreme. Be sure to include the WHYS.

2. Answer the following. Should local, state or national governments create laws that make extreme acts, like this skydiving, illegal? WHY or WHY NOT?

3. Is it the job of the government to create laws to protect people from making decisions that might harm them or should people have the right to choose whether or not to? Remember the WHYS. Think about the law that requires seat belts in cars. Is it the job of the government to require that?

Mason's Mustangs 208

17 Comments

  1. 1. I think it is extreme because those people have trained and trained to prepare them selfs for jumping of a cliff.

    2. I think the government should not make a law about jumping off cliffs because some people do that for a living and most people train before they do that and if they don’t then that is their fault.

    3.I do think the government should crate laws that should protect people but I think people still should jump off cliffs maybe just one at a time away from people.

  2. 1. I think that it is extreme because it’s interesting how these people have done a lot of training and preparing to be able to jump of a cliff.

    2. I think that the government should not make a law about jumping of cliffs because people get to choose what they want to do with life so if they want to jump of a cliff then I think they can.

    3. I think that the government should have a laws to protect other people but if someone decides that they want to jump of a cliff they should do it by themselves.

  3. 1. I think it is extreme. Flying would be very cool, and if I could do that, I would, but I would first practice skydiving a lot, then start doing it off a hill, then a mountain, then a taller mountain.

    2. I do not think the government should stop people from doing that. If somebody wants to take a risk, let them do it. It doesn’t hurt the government.

    3. People should be able to choose what they want, if it’s not something that everybody does. If everybody does it, the chances of getting in an accident are bigger. Everybody gets in a car, so making that law is a good idea. But not everybody jumps off cliffs and flies, so the government shouldn’t make that law.

  4. 1. I think that it is extreme because those people have done that before and they have sky dived and they are trained.

    2. I think the government should not make a law for jumping for cliffs because it is there chose if they want to jump of a cliff and fly(or die.)

    3. I think the government should create laws that protect people because if there are a group of people and they are driving and one guy is braking the law and the get in a reck than the other people will die because one guy broke the law.

  5. 1. I think it is extreme because they are professionals, but if they were not professionals I would think that it was careless.

    2. No, but the government should make it clear that if they are doing it they are doing it at their own risk.

    3. I think that it is NOT the government’s job to enforce wearing seat belts because again,they are doing it at they’re own risk. I think that the government should enforce laws like not speeding because they can hurt more than just the person who is taking the risk.

  6. 1.I think it is careless because I am not really in to flying and i think it is hard to do it but its not my kind of thing.

    2.I don’t think the government should make a law because if it is someones favorite thing to do why would you make law about it

    3.I think that the government’s job is to make laws that can make os safe like waring a seatbelt.

  7. 1. I think that it is extreme because the men doing this are very experienced in things like skydiving, mountain climbing, and outdoor activities.

    2. I don’t think the government should make laws saying no skydiving, but I do think that you should have to pass some skydiving tests if you want to be able to freely skydive.

    3. I think that it is the government’s job to enforce wearing seat belts, because some people may not know that they help you, and it can be very dangerous.

  8. 1. I think this stuff is extreme because “flying” down a huge cliff is unbelievable.
    No one has ever imagined “flying” down a cliff. I can believe skydiving but flying is not just awesome but fun to look at.

    2. No, because if someone has a dream of skydiving then they should do it. People always tell other people to follow their dreams and if their dreams get ruined by laws, that is going to be really sad and the public will also get disappointed because they can not watch these awesome sports.

    3. No, because as I said people have a life long dream to do these stuff. It’s not just the fliers who like it, it is also the public who like watching these things. It’s not like seat belts because not wearing a seatbelt is not extreme even though kids really want to. The government shouldn’t be able to ruin other people’s hobby,jobs and even dreams. That is why the government should not band these sports

  9. 1. I’m kind of in the middle, for the good reason I’ll assure you, I would start on a lower level. For the bad reason, some people can get injured and/or die.

    2. I’m in the middle again, because people who like and/or want to do it, will miss all the fun. I do believe it is for other people’s safety.

    3. Yes, because sometimes people need reminders. If you don’t have your seat belt on, you could easily zoom out of the car, if there is a hard break.

  10. 1. I think the sport is extreme because thay put a lot of effort on it and thay look to se there is no hole in the wingsuit and make sure that the shoot is wellpacked.

    2. The government shouldn’t make laws that you are not aloud to do this sport because you could be doing it and than it’s over, you can’t do it any more, than what will you do to entertain yourself? so it’s not fair.

    3. Yes but no, I think that the government should have car safty rules,but they should not forbid wingsuiting because people dreamed to fly and winngsuits make them come true but if they take it away we can’t fly.

  11. I think that it’s extreme because not everybody gets to do it.

    No, because your not allowed to do it without passing your mountain climbing test, sky diving test.

    I think that the government should still make laws to protect people, but the government should let people who have passed all of the tests do it and prevent people who haven’t passed all of there tests.

  12. 1. I think it’s extreme because they make sure there’s no rips in the suits or if the parachute is not correctly tucked in.

    2. I don’t think they should make a law because that’s what the divers love.

    3. The government should make the laws that protect people because most things that kids have always wanted to do are sometimes dangerous. Adults are old enough for real skydiving so they should be old enough to glide.

  13. 1. I think it’s extreme because they’re jumping off really high and then flying and that looks hard to do.

    2. I think the government shouldn’t make it illegal because some people might be doing this for a living.

    3. No, because people should decide what to do with their own lives if it’s not hurting someone else.

  14. I think extreme because you could die if just a little thing went wrong

    I think they should not make it illegal because people can fly at there own risk and it is fun for them.

    Yes, it is the government’s job to protect the people because I think the government cares about everyone, not just one person.

  15. 1. I think it is extreme and not careless because they have practiced it a lot, but if a person does it without practice, it would be careless.

    2. No, because people that do these activities know the risk and decide do it anyway. People should be able to take their own risk.

    3. It is the government’s job to make laws that make sure people wear seat belts. More people drive cars than fly.

  16. I think it’s extreme because they practiced a lot but it would be careless to do it for the first time.

    No because its their choice and they won’t hurt any body else.They know the risk.

    They should make a law for seat belts because if they get in accident they might hurt someone who’s doing the right thing. Some times people are too young to make the right decision so the government makes laws to protect you when your young and its already a habit when you get older.

  17. 1. I think that what those men did was to the extreme. I think the reason they did not hurt was because they are trained.

    2. I dont think so because it is there own body and they can make good decisions or bad decisions.

    3. They should keep that law for seat belts because the person that was doing the right thing but the other person killed them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *